Chris Hays at the top of practice in South Australia

Chris HaysQueenslander Chris Hays has made a flying start to his 2012 campaign in the CIK Stars of Karting Series presented by Castrol EDGE by setting the fastest time during practice for this weekend’s opening round at the Bolivar Raceway in South Australia today.

The Vodafone-backed Energy Kart pilot handled the intense late summer heat, which saw a maximum temperature of 39 degrees, the best throughout the day to post a fastest lap time of 34.211 seconds. “It’s definitely a turn around from last year, and it feels great to finish the opening day on top of the timesheets,” said Hays.

“From the time we put it on the track for the first session until the end of the fifth session the Energy kart felt very good. Throughout the day we made some changes, some worked and some didn’t, but I think we’ve finished up with a fast and consistent set-up which is what matters most in this style of racing.”

Right on the rear bumper of Hays was Kosmic driver John Grother with a fastest lap time of 34.217 seconds around the 755-metre circuit.

Closely following the leading duo was local drivers Daniel Price (34.237) and Scott Taylor (34.271) with Queenslander Kyle Ensbey fifth fastest (34.343).

JAM Racing finished the day one-two in the Pro Light (KF1) times with Adam Hughes (34.565) narrowly edging out defending champion Jake Spencer (34.620) throughout the day.

Bolt Pro Racing’s Tyler Greenbury who is attempting a unique double in the Pro Light (KF1) and Pro Gearbox (KZ2) categories finished fifth and sixth fastest respectively in both classes today.

Canberra’s Cameron Hill set the pace in the Pro Junior (KF3) category (35.572) ahead of Victorian Thomas Randle (35.632) and Top Gun Racing protégé Joseph Burton-Harris (35.665).

In the Clubman category for the Yamaha Challenge James Greenwood finished as the fastest driver while Adam Willison (Light) and Michael Griffiths (Heavy) were the pacesetters in the Australian Leopard Challenge.

Qualifying and the heat races will be contested from 9:00am tomorrow ahead of the finals on Sunday.

The Bolivar Raceway is located on Summer Road, Bolivar. Admission is free for spectators.

CIK Stars of Karting Series
Presented by Castrol EDGE
Round 1 – Bolivar Raceway, SA

Practice – Top Five Combined

Pro Light (KF1)
1. Adam Hughes 34.565
2. Jake Spencer 34.620
3. Daniel Rochford 34.687
4. Cian Fothergill 34.732
5. Tyler Greenbury 34.738

Pro Gearbox (KZ2)
1. Chris Hays 34.211
2. John Grother 34.217
3. Daniel Price 34.237
4. Scott Taylor 34.271
5. Kyle Ensbey 34.343

Pro Junior (KF3)
1. Cameron Hill 35.572
2. Thomas Randle 35.632
3. Joseph Burton-Harris 35.665
4. Lachlan McHugh 35.683
5. Jake Coleman 35.724

2012 Schedule
Round 1 
- February 25/26 
- Bolivar, SA
Round 2
 – April 21/22
 – Newcastle, NSW
Round 3
 – June 16/17 
- Ipswich, QLD
Round 4
 – July 28/29
 – Eastern Creek, NSW
Round 5
 – September 22/23 
- Port Melbourne, VIC

Former Series Champions
Pro Light(KF1)
2011 – Jake Spencer (Kosmic/IAME)
2010 – Cian Fothergill (Kosmic/IAME)
2009 – Hayden McBride (Gillard/IAME)
2004 – Barclay Holden (Trulli/Parilla)
2003 – Barclay Holden (Trulli/Parilla)
2002 – Adam Graham (Arrow/Rotax)
2001 – Mark Winterbottom (Tony Kart/Vortex)
2000 – Neil McFadyen (Top Kart/Comer)
1999 – Jamie Whincup (Tecno/Parilla)
1998 – Ryan Wlodzinski (PCR/PCR)
1997 – David Clark (Tecno/Atomik)
1996 – Jeremy Lohmann (Tony Kart/Vortex)
1995 – Darrell Smith (PCR/PCR)
1994 – Phillip Scifleet (Haase/Italsistem)
1993 – Richard McLeod (Azzurro/Fox)

Pro Gearbox(KZ2)
2011 – Tyler Greenbury (Intrepid/Maxter)
2010 – Matthew Wall (BRM/TM)
2005 – Bart Price (Arrow/TM)
2004 – Bart Price (Arrow/TM)
2003 – Tyson Pearce (Omega/TM)
2002 – Jason Burns (Mac Minerelli/TM)

Pro Junior(KF3)
2011 – Pierce Lehane (CRG/Vortex)
2010 – Pierce Lehane (CRG/Vortex)
2005 – Joshua Scott (BRM)
2004 – Kristian Lindbom (Top Kart/Comer)
2003 – Kristian Lindbom (Top Kart/Comer)
2002 – Ben Chong Sun (Top Kart/Comer)
2001 – Tim Slade (Top Kart/Comer)
2000 – Andrew Thompson (Tony Kart/Vortex)
1999 – Adam Graham (Tony Kart/Vortex)
1998 – Neil McFadyen (Top Kart/Comer)
1997 – Michael Caruso (Tony Kart/Vortex)
1996 – Ryan Briscoe (CRG/CRG)
1995 – Ryan Briscoe (CRG/Parilla)
1994 – Christian Jones (CRG/Rotax)
1993 – Mike Hazelton (CRG/Parilla)

Permanent link to this article: http://www.kartingasia.com/2012/chris-hays-practice-cik-stars/